Resources | Partners


The Office of Ocean and Coastal Resource Management (OCRM) works in partnership with many organizations, including 33 state and territory coastal management programs. In addition, OCRM, has relationships with the following government and non-governmental organizations.

Association of State Floodplain Managers


The Association of State Floodplain Managers (ASFPM) is an organization of professionals involved in floodplain management, flood hazard mitigation, the National Flood Insurance Program, and flood preparedness, warning and recovery.

Caribbean Coral Reef Institute


The Caribbean Coral Reef Institute (CCRI) is a Congressionally-directed program administered by NOAA's Center for Sponsored Coastal Ocean Research that funds scientific research and monitoring of Puerto Rico's coastal reefs. The goal of CCRI is to engage in research and monitoring activities that improve coral reef management strategies and that will help build management capability within Puerto Rico.

Coastal America


Coastal America is a unique partnership of federal agencies, state and local governments, and private organizations. The partners work together to protect, preserve, and restore our nation's coasts.

Coastal Services Center


The NOAA Coastal Services Center (CSC) is an office within NOAA devoted to serving the nation's state and local coastal resource management programs.

Coastal States Organization


The Coastal States Organization (CSO) was established in 1970 to represent the Governors of the nation’s 35 coastal states, commonwealths and territories on legislative and policy issues relating to the sound management of coastal, Great Lakes and ocean resources.

Cooperative Institute for Coastal and Estuarine Environmental Technology


Cooperative Institute for Coastal and Estuarine Environmental Technology (CICEET) was established as a partnership between NOAA and the University of New Hampshire (UNH) in 1997 and is located on the UNH campus in Durham, NH. CICEET uses the capabilities of UNH, the private sector, academic and public research institutions throughout the U.S., as well as the 26 reserves in the National Estuarine Research Reserve System, to develop and apply new environmental technologies and techniques.

Environmental Protection Agency

epa logo

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) works to develop and enforce regulations that implement environmental laws enacted by Congress. EPA is responsible for researching and setting national standards for a variety of environmental programs, and delegates to states and tribes the responsibility for issuing permits and for monitoring and enforcing compliance.

Hawaii Coral Reef Initiative Research Program

epa logo The Hawaii Coral Reef Initiative Research Program (HCRI) was established as a partnership between the University of Hawaii and Hawaii's Division of Aquatic Resources. The Program focuses on the linkages between human activities and damage to the coral reef ecosystem with the objective of providing resource managers with much-needed information to effectively prevent, and possibly reverse, coral reef degradation. Additional collaborators include the Pacific Science Association, Bishop Museum, and the Hawaii Nature Conservancy.

National Coral Reef Institute


The National Coral Reef Institute (NCRI) at the Nova Southeastern University Oceanographic Center was established by Congress in 1998. NCRI's primary objective is the protection and preservation of coral reefs through applied and basic research on coral reef diversity, assessment, monitoring, and restoration coupled with education and training of scientists, managers, and educators.

National Estuarine Research Reserve Association


The National Estuarine Research Reserve Association (NERRA) is a national non-profit organization dedicated to the protection and improved management of the nation's estuaries.

U.S. Coral Reef Task Force

The U.S. Coral Reef Task Force was established in June 1998 by Presidential Executive Order 13089. Their mission is to lead, coordinate and strengthen U.S. government actions to better preserve and protect coral reef ecosystems. The Task Force is co-chaired by the Departments of Commerce and of the Interior, and includes leaders of 12 federal agencies, seven U.S. states and territories, and three freely associated states.